Canine Buddha

by writesalone

It’s my dog’s birthday today and she turned seven. My dog is a pug, the closest thing to a cat, that’s a dog. I remember my brother insisting that my dog wasn’t a real dog and boy, was I offended, but now I have to agree. There are dogs and then there are pugs, the two should never be confused. My pug has been an amazing companion and member of my life and family. She’s some kind of Canine Buddha sent to enlighten everyone she meets.

Here are a few great things about my dog… 

She loves to sleep in, which means we can sleep in. Many dog owners must wake at ungodly hours to feed and walk their beasts, most pug owners do not suffer this fate.

Infinite patience. I can work on my writing in peace for as long as I need. She will wait quietly, at the most she may demand to sit on my lap while I work and that’s no hardship. She fits perfectly on lap.

She’s portable. I can take her anywhere, even on public transit.

An intellectual, my pug loves the arts and is an excellent audience. She’s always interested in what’s going on around her and what various members of the family are up to.

Meditation expert.

Always ready to cuddle

Endlessly friendly. My pug views walks as an opportunity to spread joy and meet people and dogs and cats. I have had many interesting encounters with people I never would have spoken to if my pug hadn’t insisted. She seems to sense when a person needs cheering up and sets about lifting their spirits.

My pug has taught me alot. I feel very blessed to have her in my life.